A Place For Dead Needles

I’m very pleased with this little item.  Here’s the embroidery finished:

Now can you see what it is?

It’s a tiny coffin in which to keep my broken needles and pins!  It’s black dupioni silk embroidered with rayon threads and lined in red satin.

I made the cardboard coffin, as well.  It measures 7.5 cm or 2 & 7/8ths inches.

I’m not morbid, by the way, nor Goth, just had an inspiration and ran with it.

What do you think?  Too weird or do you like it?

About inlovewiththreads

Welcome to In Love With Threads! My name is Heather and I live near beautiful Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada with my two cats, Pedro and Fitz. I have been embroidering for as long as I can remember. I love playing with threads and fibres and creating beautiful things with them.
This entry was posted in Embroidery, Needles, Sewing, Threads and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to A Place For Dead Needles

  1. Joyce Janzen says:

    This is even more beautiful in real life than in the picture – somehow the light reflects off the black silk so that it looks greyer in the picture – blacker in real life. It’s gorgeous! (if a little quirky:)

  2. Thanks. I’m not the best photographer, although I’m trying to learn. I thought it looked better with the flash than without.

  3. Ria says:

    I like it! It’s a really creative way to store them, because even if they can’t be used as sewing needles anymore, it isn’t as though they’re completely useless. I think I might like to make something like that for myself, someday.

  4. its very cute. I rarely break a needle though, so I doubt I’d need one.maybe you should go into production – theres bound to be a market for coffins for dead pet mice adn goldfish?

    • Thanks, Tanya. I break needles all the time! I’m usually pulling great, thick threads through several layers of cloth so that’s probably why. I’m going to make another one right away, this time in white. I don’t know about the goldfish, though. I don’t think the coffin would flush well.

  5. Peaches says:

    Cute idea. I don’t think I would have the heart to use such a beautiful thing on needles though. Maybe just very morbid earrings :) Still, what a lovely keepsake.

  6. Thank you so much, Peaches. It will actually go on display with my other knickknacks I may or may not put needles in it., we’ll see. It was fun to make, though. I’m making a white one now with, I think, pale blue trim.

  7. Lupin says:

    Hi Heather. Congratulations you’ve won a giveaway over on my blog! Please get in touch as soon as possible :) http://bugsandfishes.blogspot.com/2012/03/giveaway-winners-fluffy-yarn-felt.html

  8. karen says:

    I love it…..and it made me smile….

  9. Thanks, Karen. I’m making another one, taking a page from your book and making it white with pale (blue, I think, or lavender) trim.

  10. Julie says:

    Actually not such a weird idea. Are you familiar with the Japanese celebration of honoring dead needles? I think it occurs in the fall, at least that’s when my local EGA chapter has their ceremony. I have not participated in it yet.

  11. catbird365 says:

    This is wonderful. I love the idea of honoring your partners in fabric art this way. Touching as well as beautiful.

  12. Jenny Woolf says:

    I love it! I think it’s really original! But, as a non stitcher, I have to ask, why do you keep broken needles? There must be a market for it in goth shops, though, for earrings and tiny skulls and crossbones that might otherwise get lost!

    Thanks very much for entering my blog giveaway, too, and for your comment.

    • Thanks Jenny. The Japanese have a celebration honouring the needles which broke during the year which I learned about from another blog. The celebration idea didn’t suit me, so I came up with this instead.

  13. karen says:

    sorry it took me so long to get back to you…I mostly use coton a broder for my knots. I hope you are well!!

  14. Pingback: Rule # 1 | inlovewiththreads

  15. Jenny says:

    I love your needle coffin! Off now to follow your link to the ceremony. Thanks! x

  16. k says:

    it’s a clever idea. i’ll be honest and admit it’s not really my thing, but i love how you went for it and made such a well-done piece!

  17. Pingback: Etsy Shop Open! | inlovewiththreads

  18. Pingback: inlovewiththreads

  19. Glenda M says:

    I love it. Nothing morbid about it at all. It is just one cool coffin for Halloween.

  20. Pingback: Adorable Embroidered Coffin « StitchPunk

  21. You’re going to kill me and then make another coffin for my body…I haven’t seen Irene to give her her coffin. Luckily, I will see her this Sunday and give her her gift then. I still LOVE this idea! Happy Harikuyo!

  22. Jillayne says:

    Love it – brilliant!

Leave a Reply

