The Geek and the Teapot

There’s a few things you need to know about me.  One, I am a geek.  Really.  I love Star Trek, Star Wars, Dr. Who and many other sci-fi shows.  I also know how to build my own computer.  Not that I have any intention of doing so in the near future.  And I take physics and math at the local university.

Two, I have a head full of thick, silver-grey hair.  Not that I should have a head full of thick, silver-grey hair quite yet.  Although I’m almost 50, my hair has been this colour for quite a number of years.  In fact, my lovely mother (Hi, Mom!) found my first one when I was 10. So I cannot really blame it all on my children.  Although they’re probably responsible for a few of the greys.  Hi, Kids!

Another thing is that I drink a lot of tea.  A lot.  There’s always a fresh pot here.  So when my trusted and ancient brown betty broke, I was pretty devastated, because I couldn’t find another here in my town.  Sure, there were ones that looked similar, but a good teapot pours without dripping, keeps the tea hot and holds a considerable amount of tea, and I just couldn’t locate one like that.  Not even the one my lovely mother bought for me.  Hi, Mom!

So I splurged on this one.  It’s huge!

Grey and Pink Teapot

But because it’s so big, I needed a new tea cozy.  I didn’t want a plain old one like I’d made before, so I created this one.

Grey and Pink Tea Cozy

It’s wool throughout, except for the batting.  Grey wool and black wool for the outside.  I put the black rim on the bottom so that tea stains would be less likely to show. The lining is more of the black wool.  The pink band and white swirls are wool felt hand stitched on and the black dots are perle cotton french knots.  The wool will help keep the tea warm but also let the cozy breathe, just like it does for clothing.  The batting is plain, old polyester batting that I had around the house.

Here’s the other side.

Grey and Pink Teapot

And both together.

Teapot and Cozy

So, come on over.  There’s always a fresh pot of tea.  We can watch Dr. Who together.

About inlovewiththreads

Welcome to In Love With Threads! My name is Heather and I live near beautiful Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada with my two cats, Pedro and Fitz. I have been embroidering for as long as I can remember. I love playing with threads and fibres and creating beautiful things with them.
This entry was posted in Colour, Felt, Sewing, Tea, Tea Cozy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Geek and the Teapot

  1. Ang says:

    The other day I was wondering “Does Heather still drink so much tea?”. So I’ve learned that you do! Love the new pot; love the cozy! Enjoy!!
    And… I’ve also been turned into a Whovian, courtesy of my eldest.

  2. I certainly do! I have a cup beside me, as usual. I’m glad you’re a Whovian. The Doctor is fabulous.

Leave a Reply

