Steampunk Coffin

I love steampunk style.  I don’t wear browns or golds but love the style anyway.  What, you don’t know what steampunk is?  Well, I can actually help you there.  Check out this blog, Epbot, which has all kinds of great geekery, but Jen also posts about some fabulous  steampunk things as well.  There’s pictures of home furnishings, statuary and jewellery here.  And some weaponry, lighting fixtures and playing cards here.

You see, steampunk is a fantastical idea in which Victorian fashions and design and steam power incorporate some modern advancements, like this computer from the Boston Globe

Steampunk has its roots in science fiction literature, where it describes a corner of the genre obsessed with Victoriana and the idea that the computer age evolved alongside the industrial. In the past two years, though, steampunk has emerged in the real world, as a growing number of enthusiasts build steampunk objects and then share photos of them on the Internet. Left, The ElectriClerk, made from a 1988 Macintosh SE computer, a c.1923 Underwood typewriter, and a fresnel lens by Andrew H. Leman.

or this one.

steampunk computer

Anyway, now you have an idea of what steampunk is, you’ll be able to see that my most recent coffin is reminiscent of it.

Steampunk Coffin

It’s got gears, is made of old gold silk, with embroidered gears and flowers.

Steampunk Coffin Side 2

Steampunk Coffin Close up Top

Steampunk Coffin Inside

Lined in brown velvet.

What do you think?  Steampunk enough? I debated adding some copper or gold tubing, but couldn’t think of what use they’d be on a coffin!  This is available at my Etsy shop.

About inlovewiththreads

Welcome to In Love With Threads! My name is Heather and I live near beautiful Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada with my two cats, Pedro and Fitz. I have been embroidering for as long as I can remember. I love playing with threads and fibres and creating beautiful things with them.
This entry was posted in Coffins, Colour, Embroidery, Etsy, Steampunk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Steampunk Coffin

  1. Anna Dutchak says:

    CUTE!!!!

  2. Hi Heather,
    I LOVE this coffin and bought it for a friend who just finished her needlebook. Her broken needles page says “RIP” so this is PERFECT for her!

    I also got your comment re: stitching in low light. I wrote a post about that last winter…not sure if it will help you or not. Here’s the link.

    http://plays-with-needles.blogspot.com/2011/11/tips-for-stitching-in-low-light.html

    For me, there are just some forms of needlework that I must do in early morning angled light. To wait until late in the day or to do it under an OTT lite just won’t do.

    Good luck and I can’t wait to get the coffin!!

    xo Susan

    P.s. Just wondering if it’s purposeful that you don’t share your email address on your profile? It makes it a bit easier to have a “chat” but I completely understand if you don’t want to…sometimes folks don’t know that their email isn’t showing up on the comments…

    • Thank you so much Susan. Your coffin will be on the way tomorrow. I didn’t realize that I hadn’t put my email address on. I have now done it. I had thought that it was there! I reread your post on lighting and just bought another light that will hopefully add some more light on the issue. :) Do you recommend any particular bulbs? Here in BC we can’t buy incandescent bulbs anymore.

  3. Pingback: Steampunk Style Boxes | inlovewiththreads

Leave a Reply

