Steampunk Style Boxes

I made a couple of steampunk style boxes.  You remember steampunk.  It is an aesthetic which I really like, and although I love the coppery colours, they don’t quite fit into my own style.  I have been considering giving my bathroom a steampunk theme, though, and if I ever do, I’ll make sure you see pictures.

Smaller Box Top

Smaller BoxLarger Box TopLarger Box Side

I made these little boxes with with embroidered gears as well as little copper gear shapes that I found at the hardware store.  I’m sure they have a use other than embroidery!  Some sequins, both large and small are on there as well.

Both Boxes Together

These are going in the Etsy shop.

About inlovewiththreads

Welcome to In Love With Threads! My name is Heather and I live near beautiful Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada with my two cats, Pedro and Fitz. I have been embroidering for as long as I can remember. I love playing with threads and fibres and creating beautiful things with them.
This entry was posted in Boxes, Embroidery, Etsy, Steampunk and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Steampunk Style Boxes

  1. boxontop says:

    they are charmingly attractive!

  2. Kim says:

    Hi Heather :) This is a beautiful blog. I love the detail you put into these Steampunk boxes, really lovely work! I would like to add sequins and beads to a lot of my projects, I love the effect they both give.

    • Thanks so much, Kim!

      I’m a big fan of bling too. It isn’t hard to add trims like sequins and beads to your work. Most important is that you use a good thread and make sure that items are securely attached.

  3. MA says:

    I love the combination of stitching and gears – great fun!

Leave a Reply

