Winter Jewellery

I’ve been working a little slowly lately, what with the sore wrist and little inspiration.  I think that’s normal for this time of year, after all the creativity of December.  I’ve heard other bloggers mention it, such as Lisa J. over at http://lilfishstudios.blogspot.com/ However, I have been making some Valentine brooches for the big day.  One is in the cooler tones and the other warmer.  It’s hard to see in the lower one, but there is stitching around it to show me the outer edges so I don’t stitch past them.  I love this encrusted style and I love texture.

I’ve added a little more since this picture was taken.  They are each about 6.5 centimetres or 2.5 inches at the widest part.

Next up, some brooches or necklace beads (like the one below) in icy white, silver, and maybe some pale purples as well in honour of winter.

This necklace was made for a friend for Christmas in colours she loves.

The bead is entirely embroidered and can be hung both vertically and horizontally.  I made the earrings, too.  They are way too small for me, but Joyce is much more elegant than I am.

Any suggestions as to the shape of the ‘winter’ brooches?

About inlovewiththreads

Welcome to In Love With Threads! My name is Heather and I live near beautiful Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada with my two cats, Pedro and Fitz. I have been embroidering for as long as I can remember. I love playing with threads and fibres and creating beautiful things with them.
This entry was posted in Embroidery, Jewellery, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winter Jewellery

  1. karen says:

    poinsettia shaped winter brooches? thanks for the lovely comments about my work, I really appreciate them, Karen

  2. You are welcome, Karen. Your works are an inspiration. Thanks for the idea. Things are still ‘brewing’ at the moment. Once I finish the current ones, I’ll start the next batch.

Leave a Reply

