Calculus and the Sea Shore

Calculus.  That’s right.  Calculus is the reason that there’s been no posts for a while.  My final exam is over and I’m just waiting for my marks.  The sense of freedom is wonderful, so wonderful in fact, I’ve not been getting anything done!  I don’t read during school (novels, that is, I read a bunch of other things) so the first thing I did, once I was free, was reread The Lord of the Rings…..again.  One day I’m going to do some embroidery or crazy-quilting with that theme.  It’s been percolating in my mind for some time but now I have other things to do.  I have a commission for one of my coffins – a black one with red roses.  I’m also planning a ‘housewife’ or hussif, which is  essentially a sewing kit, but mine will be for my embroidery, so will have lots of extra things in it.  I want to be able to grab my kit and go and know that I have everything that I need.  I’m still working on some white jewellery too.

I wanted to show you some of my fabrics all hooped up.  I work on more than one at a time, so have several hoops going and a couple of the hoops have more than one thing in them. White Fabrics Hooped UpNotice that I didn’t just hoop up large pieces of the expensive fabrics.  I mounted a white broadcloth first and when it was taut, attached the silk and satin on them.  There are some wrinkles that you can see but they are outside of the stitching areas so will not be a problem.  Even if they were inside, my style of embroidery would use and highlight them.  Leaving wrinkles isn’t appropriate for most embroidery, though!  Taut smooth fabric is best, but for these little items some wrinkles are fine.

In fact, here’s a piece I worked on a few years ago where you can see that the fabric has been gathered, ruched, pleated and folded to create the design.

White Sea Shore Encrusted Embroidery

Sea Life Encrusted EmbroideryThis piece was an experiment and has items trapped between 2 layers of fabric as well as attached to the surface.  It reminds me of a sea shore tidal pool.  Can you see the key?  Anyway, you can see how wrinkles in the fabric were used to advantage and were not a problem.

I’ve also hooped up some muslin to make another owl picture for my mother and some black broadcloth with some black silk mounted on it for the next couple coffins.

In other words, I’ve got a lot of work ahead of me!

About inlovewiththreads

Welcome to In Love With Threads! My name is Heather and I live near beautiful Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada with my two cats, Pedro and Fitz. I have been embroidering for as long as I can remember. I love playing with threads and fibres and creating beautiful things with them.
This entry was posted in Coffins, Embroidery, Hoops, Life, School, White and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Calculus and the Sea Shore

  1. Pingback: Wrinkling isn’t always a problem · Needlework News | CraftGossip.com

  2. marjolein says:

    This is such a coincedence. Last February I started a discussion on Stitchin Fingers about this style of embroidery. Here is the link: http://stitchinfingers.ning.com/forum/topics/who-dares-to-rush-into-a-pebble-adventure?groupUrl=handembroidery&groupId=2105845%3AGroup%3A1861&id=2105845%3ATopic%3A400271&page=1#comments
    I made two pebbles in this style. If you are interested you can find them on my blog under the label: “pebble”.

  3. Marjolein,
    Your pebbles are lovely. I had watched their progress in your blog. I made my piece years ago for a school project, inspired by the same article in Stitch that you were. I haven’t made a pebble yet, though. I should put one on my list!

    http://www.embroiderersguild.com/stitch/projects/encrustingcalico/index.html

  4. Amanda says:

    Isn’t it a great way of adding texture? I’ve had my ‘stuff’ all collected together since Jennifer Rochester’s article in The Embroiders Guile Stitch magazine a few years ago. Perhaps I should just get on with it! lol. Such a shame her book is out of print.

  5. Mary Robins says:

    Unfortunately Jenifer Rocherster’s book was never published. She does however have several articles in Stitch magazine. Index issues 1-50 at http://www.embroiderersguild.com/stitch/51/stitchindex.pdf.

  6. Thanks, Mary, for that information. She also wrote the “Mermaid’s Chatelaine” article for Stitch. http://www.embroiderersguild.com/stitch/pdfs/chatelaine.pdf which continues the encrusted theme. It is unfortunate that her book wasn’t published. I would have liked to have it.

  7. Oh Heather, that piece is GORGEOUS. I have never seen embroidery work like that. Too cool!

  8. Pingback: The Wrack Zone | inlovewiththreads

  9. Make a huge wall hanging! That’s what I did (to a lesser degree!)
    . http://www.fiberarte.com

Leave a Reply

