The Challenge of Colour

Orna over at Adorn by Orna had a Colour Competition where she asked us to take pictures of at least 10 items all of a certain colour.  It was an interesting challenge.  First I searched my house for things that were of the colour I was highlighting.  Then, I arranged them in a pleasing composition.  And rearranged them.  And rearranged them again.  I have to admit that I received some assistance from my son, who is an excellent photographer.  He helped with lighting and background ideas.  I took lots of pictures then and chose the best one to send to Orna.

I did one of purple.  Those who know me, also know that it was no difficulty to find many purple things.  In fact, it was more difficult to know what purple things to leave out.  Like my car.  And my phone.

Purple CollageThere’s an angel doll that I made ages ago.  Sorry, I don’t know who designed the pattern.  Some books, including Vancouver is a Garden by Donna McClement, a tea cup, gloves, threads and ribbons, beads, buttons, earrings, a dish, an Easter card made by a friend of mine and my umbrella.

I was so intrigued by this challenge that I did another colourway – in red this time.

Red CollageAnother doll, but not one I made.  My daughter gave this to me, I think.  There’s more threads and ribbons and beads, a vintage toffee tin in the shape of a phone booth, a toy car, some books, a satin box and a resin box, a pair of glasses, earrings, a fake apple (looks real, doesn’t it), candles, fabric roses, some fabric and an old card game called Lexicon and its box.  Orna said some very nice things about my pictures on her blog and I won some of her fabulous threads.

I was very challenged by this competition.  It made me look at my things more closely.  A bookshelf for example, is a mass of colour which blends all together, but when you look more closely you see the individual books and their design and shape.   The same with ornaments and treasures.  It’s a good practice to really look at something.  To notice its form, its dimensions, its colour.  And then to use that to inspire your art.

This isn’t the greatest picture but it shows one of my bookcases. There are books that are red, yellow, purple, black, blue, green and more.  There are tones of every colour.  There are patterns, of words, of the decorations on the spines of some of the books, of the ‘skyline’ that the different heights of the books produce.  There are shapes, of the little brown bird on the top shelf, of the strange tower of cases, of the white space behind the books.

Take a look around your place, inside or out, and really look at what is there.  Notice the depth of colour and the patterns and use them to inspire you.

About inlovewiththreads

Welcome to In Love With Threads! My name is Heather and I live near beautiful Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada with my two cats, Pedro and Fitz. I have been embroidering for as long as I can remember. I love playing with threads and fibres and creating beautiful things with them.
This entry was posted in Colour, Life, Threads and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

