Never Say I Don’t Show You a Good Time!

My three kids planned a wonderful Mother’s Day for me. It was a beautiful day, warm and sunny. We first had a fun drive out to the Reifel Bird Sanctuary and had a picnic lunch under the trees before we went in.  We saw lots of birds including nesting Sandhill Cranes and 3 Wilson’s Phalaropes, which were ones for my life list.  It is a pleasant place just for a walk and I recommend it if you are in the area.

Afterwards we drove up to North Vancouver to see my wonderful Mother for a quick visit.  It was a longer drive than usual because I tried to avoid a traffic back-up and ended up meandering around Richmond.  We’re always glad to see Mom and she seemed happy to see us too.

Next we headed back home where my daughter planned a lovely dinner for us all.  I was looking forward to it because she is an excellent and inventive cook.  I should mention that I was driving my purple car (the LPC) and that the distances we covered were fairly extensive.  I don’t mind because I love to drive.   It’s an hour from home to the sanctuary, another from the sanctuary to Mom’s and also from North Van to home again.

As we were crossing the Port Mann Bridge, the Beatles on the radio, breezes coming in the windows, my car………exploded!  Well, it wasn’t really the car, just the tire.  There was lots of loud banging and my fender started rising above the hood.  I managed to cross several lanes of traffic without incident and pulled over just where the bridge touched down in Surrey.  Thank God it was a quiet traffic day and that I had my son and son-in-law with me. My son is going to school, taking bodywork and my son-in-law is a mechanic.

Here’s what we saw when we got out of the car:

You can see where the tire is missing the tread.  It was hissing with escaping air.

The boys got to work right away:

Traffic was zooming by and some were slowing down at the sight of a purple car in distress.  The spare couldn’t be put on the front, so the rear tire had to be moved to the front and the spare put on the back.  A workman who was with those who are building the new bridge came by.  He introduced himself as the ‘Mother’s Day Fairy’ and stayed with us until the spare was put on, but didn’t actually do anything.

Another fellow showed up and he was a little more helpful.  He parked his truck behind us to to create more of a safe zone for my boys, he had an impact wrench and helped the boys remove the fender and anchor the bumper.  That’s the fairy on the left.

Look at the purple paint that ended up in what’s left of the tread of the tire.  You can see that’s there no tread on the rest of it.  It’s somewhere on the bridge.

We eventually got to my daughter’s place where she whipped up (I don’t cook, so am continually surprised and amazed at her kitchen abilities) almond crusted chicken, a risotto and a fabulous salad with prosciutto and romano cheese.  If you ever get a chance to have one of her salads, don’t pass it up.  She then made chocolate cookies which I enjoyed both as dough and cooked!  After watching Sense and Sensibility it was time for bed.

I now have a new lawn ornament.

About inlovewiththreads

Welcome to In Love With Threads! My name is Heather and I live near beautiful Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada with my two cats, Pedro and Fitz. I have been embroidering for as long as I can remember. I love playing with threads and fibres and creating beautiful things with them.
This entry was posted in Life, Pagoda and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Never Say I Don’t Show You a Good Time!

  1. Anonymous says:

    totally lost for words! This is spectacular, even for you!

Leave a Reply

