The Wrack Zone

The wrack zone is the place on the beach where all the debris is left after a high tide.  It is a place of great interest, full of wonderful (and sometimes, not-so-wonderful) things.  It’s where shells, kelp, driftwood and flotsam and jetsam come to rest.  On the West Coast of BC, where we don’t have many sandy beaches, this zone is also full of barnacles, small snails, pebbles and seaweed.

I love an encrusted style of embroidery that lends itself well to exemplifying the sea shore and the wrack zone.  I first mentioned in Calculus and the Sea Shore how items are trapped between two layers of fabric and the resulting wrinkles are incorporated into the final embroidery.  You can see an example in my banner up above.  I’ve been working on another.

Wrack Zone Embroidery Beach

This one has ripples of sand as well as a collection of things found in the wrack zone.

Wrack Zone Detail Embroidery

Wrack Zone Detail Ripples

Wrack Zone Detail Whole

There’s all kinds of things in this piece: buttons and beads, including some vintage translucent leaf beads, a real shell and a myriad of stitches.  Lots and lots of french knots, cast-on bars, drizzle stitches, bullion knots, straight and cross stitches, seed stitch, woven picots, couching, cup stitch, woven spider’s webs, fly stitches and, I’m sure, more that I can’t remember.

I added the driftwood piece as a kind of hanging bar.  This piece is going up on Etsy and hopefully will catch some interest.

Did you see the dead fish?

About inlovewiththreads

Welcome to In Love With Threads! My name is Heather and I live near beautiful Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada with my two cats, Pedro and Fitz. I have been embroidering for as long as I can remember. I love playing with threads and fibres and creating beautiful things with them.
This entry was posted in Beach, Beads, Couching, Driftwood, Etsy, Ocean, Sea Shells, Sea Shore, Threads and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Wrack Zone

  1. tb says:

    very cool. the dead fish is great.

  2. The texture is sooooooooooo delicious 🙂

  3. Kerri says:

    beautiful detail… and so very pretty.

  4. Leah says:

    This is simply amazing and I’m very much in awe. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Where the sea kisses the shore · Needlework News | CraftGossip.com

  6. Jan Marriott says:

    just the sort of textile work I love, organic and textural.

  7. thelinencat says:

    What a beautiful piece of embroidery – I love the texture!

Leave a Reply

