Whistle While You….Don’t Work

I’m sure many of you have asked yourselves, “What’s it like, where she lives, that Heather?”  Though why you are asking it in a backwards, Yoda-type way, I do not know.  Well, I can answer that with one word:

Magnificent!

Atop Whistler Mountain View

Mountain Tarn From Whistler

Mountain Vista from Whistler

A few days ago, a friend and I made our annual trip to Whistler, BC, which is only a couple of hours from us.  This year we took the gondola and the chair lift to the very summit of Whistler Mountain.  What incredible views!

Here’s one that gives you an idea of how high above Whistler Village we were:

Whistler Village Far Below

The Black Tusk in the distance.

Black Tusk from Whistler Mountain

If you look in the background of each of these pictures you see mountains disappearing into the distance as far as you can see.  It was a beautiful day, sunny and warm, even though we were up so high.  At the summit of Whistler Mountain we were 7,160 ft / 2,182 meters above sea level.

We took the Peak-to-Peak Gondola from Whistler to Blackcomb (and back again) which is the world’s longest unsupported span at 1.88 miles or 3.024 kilometres.  What a way to see the valley below, dangling in a glass box!  Well, not completely glass, but lots of windows to see all around.

Peak to Peak Gondola

We did a little hike, too, and on the way met a friend.

Marmot at the top of Whistler Mountain

This is a hoary marmot.  Whistler is named after the whistling call that they give.  If you look closely, you can see some marks on the bottom of the rock, just to the right of him.  He was licking the rock!  I don’t know why, but assume that he was getting some kind of mineral from it.

We then had dinner and some ice cream in Whistler Village, which is a truly cosmopolitan place, before heading back home.

Whistler Village TowerWhistler Village Cafe

All-in-all, a great day.  I am blessed to live surrounded by such natural beauty.

About inlovewiththreads

Welcome to In Love With Threads! My name is Heather and I live near beautiful Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada with my two cats, Pedro and Fitz. I have been embroidering for as long as I can remember. I love playing with threads and fibres and creating beautiful things with them.
This entry was posted in Animals, Life, Mountains and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Whistle While You….Don’t Work

  1. mylivinglifeblog says:

    Beautiful pictures!

  2. Kelly Solomon says:

    Absolutely beautiful! Kudos to you for having the nerve to float in that gondola – not sure I could do it! You are very lucky to be in such a gorgeous area! I went up Pike’s Peak in Colorado on a train with my son’s (then 4th grade) class and it was very pretty as well! Such inspirational sights make me think of all kinds of embroidery projects I’d love to do!

  3. MA says:

    How beautiful, but I’m afraid I will have to live through you…there is no possible way I could ever convince myself to get into one of those gondolas!

  4. Kira Nichols says:

    It’s absolutely gorgeous! My parents took us up there to ski when my bro & sis and I were kids, but I think we were to young to appreciate the loveliness of it. Looks like you had a great time! That marmot is awesome!

Leave a Reply

